I didn’t mean to kill her !

 

Her body lay soaked in the salt water pool. My best friend lay motionless at my feet. I didn’t mean to kill her, it was all my fault.

 

My name is Ash and my best friend had  disappeared while we were swimming . I just found her dead at our favourite spot near the waves . It was all my fault  because I told her to come out and swim at  the beach with me. Now she is lying here with cuts on her legs and arms, washed up on the sandy beach.

 

It was only 24 hours ago when we packed our bags and left a note on the kitchen table saying “Out swimming, be back soon”. It  was a hot sunny day so Evie and I went down to the beach . The second we got there we dove into the crystal clear waves and opened our eyes to see a magic world open up to us. Small fish darted in and out of multi coloured reefs and corals occasionally came up and swam beside us .  When we weren’t  swimming or diving off the rocks, we lay in the sand cracking jokes and laughing. 

 

Just as the sun was starting to set, I said that I was going to go for one more swim. Without me knowing she followed me out. The sea was rough and I had never swum this far out before. It was wonderful seeing everything from under the waves. It was so peaceful until an ear splitting shriek came from above…

 

I screamed out her name as I treaded water. My throat was dry. I swam back to the beach hoping she would be there. She wasn’t. Guilt took over. I was supposed to take care of her and I failed. I ran home with tears in  my eyes “ Mum !!” I yelled  I saw a piece of paper taped to the table fluttering in the light breeze let in by the open window, the note read “ Out to town be back soon.” I don’t know what happened at that moment but something in me just snapped. I ran to my room, grabbed my bag and stuffed all my belongings into it,then ran to the kitchen to grab a loaf of bread and a knife and left.

 

After two days  in the forest north of my home ,I had finished my  bread and drank all the water in my flask. I need to go home I thought, as I slowly fell asleep. I was woken by the snap of a twig and shot up , knife bared. The noise came closer and closer, I was  ready to kill whatever it was .Then crashing  through the undergrowth and tumbling in front of me was EVIE !! 

I scooped her up in a  hug,” What, what happened?” I stammered “ I thought you were dead ?” Evie looked at me confused “ Oh you mean that poor girl on the beach ? She was acting. Holly Peers , that’s her name she was practicing for that new movie “Washed Up.”

 I was shocked,  all this time I thought my best friend was dead and she was alive.  I was thinking of sticking my hand through her to check that I wasn’t hallucinating. I was so tired from lack of sleep,” Let’s go home.” I said “I need some sleep.” I said wearily .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *